The Egg Salad That Made Me Believe In Egg Salad

I first fell in love with this recipe, or at least a variation of it, when I was working at a retirement home. I had never considered egg salad before because of its bland, eggy color reminiscent of a school cafeteria “brown bag” lunch, and it’s super alluring odor, even though I always loved hard-boiled eggs.

I started to like the idea of it after I saw how it was made, and realized I could control the offending ingredient – mayo! I would eat it at lunch with crackers and cucumber slices, and eventually in sandwiches as a condiment to compliment ham or turkey rather than a main ingredient. It was a great way to get quick protein at lunch. Because of this, my recipe produces a very flavorful, tangy, somewhat colorful (for what it is, at least) egg salad that is just great as a star ingredient but really compliments other ingredients one might put on a sandwich or in a salad.

IMG_3958

Here’s what I usually start with:

Retirement-Worthy Egg Salad

  • 8 hard-boiled eggs, cooled, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 c. chopped pickles, bread & butter or dill (I used my homemade quick pickles, of course!)
  • 2 Tbsp. whole grain mustard
  • a scant 1/4 c. mayo, any kind you like – you can always add more, but once you’ve added too much, it’s an eggtastrophe
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh chopped dill or 2 tsp. dried
  • 1/4 tsp. celery salt
  • black pepper or red chili flakes to taste, if you’re into those sorts of things
  • other delicious additions: 1 tsp. curry powder; a dash of turmeric; sliced scallions; diced bacon (if you’re using the real mayo anyway)

Fold all ingredients together with a spatula in a large bowl until combined, adding more mayo or celery salt to consistency and taste!

This recipe yields about 3 cups, which is enough to last for sandwiches, snacks or salads for lunch every day for a week.

IMG_3955

Leave a Reply

