Goodbye, Hello, Red Velvet, Chicago!

Last week I said goodbye to my wonderful friend and roommate as she moved to Chicago to bigger and better things. For her goodbye party, I made a 3-layer red velvet cake (a favorite of hers) with cream cheese frosting, complete with the Sears Tower, John Hancock Building, and the “Bean” (aka Cloud Gate) with the little leftover licorice I had. Yes, I used black licorice. Not my most pro job because the only thing I could find were tightly wound Haribo pinwheels that I had to try to flatten out as best I could after I unwound them, but pretty cute, nonetheless:

The photo also makes the cake look waaaaaaaay more round than it was… I’m still learning.

Leave a Reply

