Weaknesses – It’s All About the $Dough$

Two baked goods that will be my downfall… cinnamon rolls and doughnuts. Since I don’t have a deep fryer and should consume less doughnuts anyway, this weekend I tackled one of the two – cinnamon rolls. No matter how full or tired or sick I am, a Cinnabon cinnamon roll will alwayssound good to me. They are just so doughy and rich and flavorful and moist, it’s nearly impossible to recreate at home or with even the best frozen or fresh take-home doughs. So, this Friday afternoon, I decided to try my best at a recipe that was supposed to be the “clone” of Cinnabon’s recipe, without the special Indonesian “Makara” cinnamon that they swear is the secret ingredient in their cinnamon rolls.

Here they are, post-roll, pre-proof:

Perfect little thin swirls in a fat roll filled with dark cinnamon and sugar. They are perfect. They even somewhat resemble the Cinnabon that I crave… I am in love!
I put them in the fridge overnight and pulled them out in the morning to rise in the oven with a pot of boiling water. They were perfect, doughy and SO GOOD. I will definitely make these again. The only problem is that the recipe makes a lot… it filled up a 15″ x 9″ glass pan plus a few in a 9″ x 9″.
The best part is that I had most of the ingredients in my house already, so the only thing they cost me is a bit of my precious time. And it was more than worth it!

Leave a Reply

