The Greatest Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

As I said a few days back, all this baking… it’s a problem. A couple months ago, I made pumpkin ravioli with Gorgonzola sauce, and had about 1 cup of leftover canned pumpkin puree. I asked my boyfriend to pick up a box of spice cake mix on the way home, mixed the two together, and magic happened. And the best part is how EASY it was, and for some reason, they always turn out to be the most beautiful, golden, uniform cupcakes I have ever seen, and they are SO good, especially topped with a little cream cheese frosting! Unfortunately, we also found out that the family of mice that has nested under our stove also loves these cupcakes. Oops.

Today, I was supervised by my sandwich-making friend, Eric.

I present to you:
Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes
  • 1 box spice cake mix, like Betty Crocker or Pillsbury
  • all other ingredients according to cake mix recipe (oil, eggs, etc.)
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree

(I usually don’t care enough to spring for organic, but this was, unbelievably, cheaper on sale than the regular stuff.)


Preheat oven according to directions on box.

Most box cake mixes call for some equation of oil, eggs, and water. Since pumpkin puree is very liquidy, I use it to substitute up to 1 cup of the water. For example, the cake mix I used called for 1-1/4 cups water, 1/3 cup oil, and 3 eggs, so I used 1 cup of pumpkin puree and 1/4 cup water. This is adjustable, but be sure to use at least 1 cup of the pumpkin puree to get the right flavor.
Beat together eggs, oil and pumpkin in an electric mixer or by hand with a whisk.

Once the liquids are incorporated, add dry cake mix and mix according to directions on box (usually about 2 minutes). The batter will be just a little thicker and fluffier than regular cake batter.
Fill 2/3 full and bake according to directions on box. I have found that the minimum time provided for cupcakes and even a minute or two less is just fine.

Once finished, frost with a little cream cheese frosting. Mix a little of the leftover pumpkin (about 1 or 2 Tbsp) in to the frosting if you like.


Yum!

Leave a Reply

